What does International Day of Yoga mean to you?

Today is the International Day of Yoga. As a fellow ‘Yogi’ what does this day mean to you?  Let it be a day to remember that yoga is for everyone and Yoga holds no boundaries.

Let it be a day to celebrate, to raise awareness of what yoga is (and what it isn’t!) A day to promote why we should all incorporate aspects of Yoga into our daily life in order to support our health and wellbeing.

Different branches of Yoga

It’s beautiful how as individuals we may be drawn to a different branch of yoga or a mix of different aspects. You could be a person who enjoys a weekly yoga class or two, or you’re a true Karma Yogi!  Maybe you incorporate meditation practices to support your mental wellbeing, or your yoga is mantra and kirtan. The important thing is to find the yoga for you.

We are all different and at the same time collectively we are one.

The Yoga Chakra

In the system of yoga of our tradition, the Bihar School of Yoga, we focus on ‘six yogas.’ Hatha Yoga, Raja Yoga, Kriya Yoga, Karma Yoga, Bhakti Yoga and Jnana Yoga are collectively known as the Yoga Chakra, (wheel).

The first three yogas represent the external yoga practices to harmonise body, vital energy, mind, and psyche (spirit), enabling us to connect and understand our own nature. From there they lead to the remaining three yogas (Karma, Bhakti and Jnana Yoga) the internal yogas.

“To practice and to live these yogas fully is the vision of yoga as seen by Swami Sivananada and Swami Satyananda*” It is a holistic system of yoga that touches all aspects of everyday life.

For us, the International Day of Yoga, is a little reminder of how beneficial this science and living this ‘yogic lifestyle’ has been in supporting us in our day-to-day life.

In fact, it is Yoga that brought us both together!

Namo Narayan

Hari Om Tat Sat

Jai Ho!


* What is Yoga, June, 2021 @Bihar School of Yoga